Pitching thick-headed-ness (ignorance):

**My name is Prof. Don R. Mueller. I’m a physics professor (involved with the Physics of Sports). I’m also a former pro baseball pitcher and coach. The other day, I was at a baseball school to demonstrate some new techniques (I developed) in throwing based on principles in physics.

During the day, I met some “clown” who coaches hitting there. He said he’s a scout for the Atlanta Braves. He told me the following: Professor, if you could teach my players to throw 1000 mph, I still wouldn’t be interested in your new techniques. His name is Mike Just. So, I simply replied: You sir, are “just” a fool.

As I assert in my topic title: There is plenty of pitching thickheadedness, ignorance and stupidity amongst baseball people who think they know everything. They don’t understand physics, so they don’t know everything.**

I’m gong to use myself as an example in response to your experience(s).

As far coaches goes in this sport - professionally speaking, we’re locked in time to the way and by the means in which we first started making a living. What worked for me, over a short period of time in the beginning, worked for me for the majority of my career. It’s what I felt comfortable with, things that I saw worked, methods of dealing with the “business” and the people in it.

Now I knew enough NOT to be something that I wasn’t - a coach that knew everything and tried to fit that “knowing” to every man that came across my radar. In fact, to be perfectly honest about it, I could’ve cared less how and why they pitched, as long as produced results. They produced - they had a job, they didn’t - gone. Gone, not because I said so, but gone because they no longer got along with the people paying the bills.