Pitching Specific Workouts

Hey i was wondering what specific muscles should i be working out at the gym and stuff. Ive been working out for about a 3 years like when i can. Turn 17 in May so my body still has time to grow. 6’0 175 lbs. I was just wondering what some of the ball players do or did to get that solid baseball body to help stay strong through a season and prevent injuries. If you guys can help me out that would be great thanks.

Check out Steven’s book, Tuff Cuff.

Tuff Cuff is publication that spans the multi levels of this sport and the pitcher’s posiiton. Regardless if you’re in high school, college or somewhere in the middle. It’s a true “must” for any player with hopes of going into the upper crust of the game, as an item of professional inventory of study material. It’s that’s good.

However, that being said, it’s not to be sitting in a book case collecting dust. You need a burning desire to be the best you can, with the discipline to adhere to a program … and stick to it. Couple that discipline with Tuff Cuff and your way ahead of the curve.

Coach B.

Is there anything i can do in the mean time. Im a little short on cash to buy this right now. :frowning: lol

I would recommend focusing on the legs, the core, and the decelerators and the rotator cuff.

For legs, you could simply do lunges.

For the core, search the internet for some medicine ball exercises and use any appropriately heavy object you have in your house.

For the decelerators, do some towel drill using a tube sock instead of a towel. Put a baseball in the sock. Hold the end of the sock with the ball in it and don’t let go. By keeping the weight of the ball in the hand that adds additional weight that the decelerator muscles must decelerate.

For the rotator cuff, do some tubing work like the ASMI Thrower’s Ten
http://www.asmi.org/asmiweb/throwers10.htm