Pitching mechanics after long layoff

I recently started playing baseball again after an 8 year layoff, I’m 29. I played 3 years of college ball as a pitcher but of course I wasn’t good enough to go any further than that. Luckily I met up with some people and I am able to play and pitch again in an adult baseball league but I’m having trouble getting into any sort of groove. My catcher says I have 3 different arm motions with 3 different release points for each arm motion. Needless to say my control in my first scrimmage game was all over the place. I know my problem is that I have only been throwing with someone on the days we have practice, Saturday and Sunday (for about 4-5 weeks now). I work 8-6 every day so unless a miracle happens I don’t see that changing. I would like to know if anyone has any exercises I can do by myself during my lunch break every day. There is a baseball field right across the street from my work and I planned to throw as much as possible against the backstop since no one from my work is interested in throwing the ball around. Aside from throwing at the backstop and shagging my own balls, is there is anything else I can do to help? I really want to be able to get my control down and velocity up. Any input would be greatly appreciated even if you tell me to hang it up and go play first base.

I’d say this is the root cause of your problems. It’s incredibly hard to be consistent with just 1 arm motion, much less 3. What’s more, if you have different arm motions for different pitches, then you will be easier to hit because hitters will be able to know what’s coming based on your arm slot.

I’d focus on your fastball arm slot and then try to learn to throw a sinker and/or a change-up from the same arm slot.