Pitching Log: My D1 College Career

So off inspiration from reading Ben Brewster’s pitching/training log from his career at Maryland, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to follow his lead and do the same. I am a freshman at Maryland as I am writing this, and am about to move in tomorrow. The last time I wrote on these forums was when I was a sophomore in high school, and I know some gave helpful advice on what to do about an injury I had, so from that point here’s what went on in my baseball career:

• pitched about 25 innings for High School varsity team
  • Was doing well until I aggravated my forearm, and had to sit out the rest of the season rehabbing
  • Came back in the late summer/fall of 2014 and pitched down in Florida where the coaching staff of Maryland scouted me and offered me a scholarship when I visited the campus. I committed late November of that year.

• As I was preparing/training in the offseason, I heard a clunking/popping when internally rotating my shoudler. Decided to get it checked out.
  • Had an MRI after initial check-ups, turns out I had a frayed labrum in my throwing shoulder.
  • Fortunately, I did not need surgery. Unfortunately, it seemed with an inury like this that precaution was the best way to go. I essentially missed out on a year of training/ pitching, and had to sit out (from pitching) during my junior year. I was able to play centerfield atleast.
  • Eventually eased back into training and pitched during the summer and fall, was sitting 86-88, touched 89 on occasion.

• Went back into the offseason ready to put on weight/develop, and was able to do that for a solid month until I visited my doctor for my shoulder as a precaution.
  • He issued me three PRP shots, which I do believe helped, but forced me to refrain from training for a 6 week period during the offseason.