Pitching disagreement with Coaches! Need Advice on GS Foot!

Gentleman first let me say that this site is a great resource and I appreciate the knowledge everyone is sharing. This is my first post but I have been browsing the site for a couple months in preparation for my sons upcoming 9U season and his teams first year in kid pitch baseball. I’m watching from the seats this year but because of the age and level of play and because how much time we spend just throwing the ball around, I still consider it my primary responsibility to nurture his love for the game and oversee his development. I’m hoping the following topic will generate some thoughtful discussion and advice that I can share with his coaching staff about an important difference of opinion concerning pitching mechanics. The teams coaching staff is made up of four sharp, insightful dads, a couple of which played college ball.

At issue is a pitching and throwing method taught by a local well-known instructor with ties to our area youth teams and university. Our coaches taught this method at a recent practice, which afterward I disagreed with and we discussed. The well-known instructor teaches a slight leg lift, balance point, shortened stride and landing the glove side foot completely closed to the target or as close to 90 degrees as possible :?: I suppose there could be some possible accuracy and control benefits for a first time pitcher by limiting the leg lift and stride and at the same time the promoting balance point. But, I don’t see how landing and planting on a closed GS foot from a mound could be healthy for the knee and hip joints, or aid in pitching velocity? The well known instructor claims this method will reduce risk of arm injury, increase accuracy and it promotes his teaching that pitching is about arm speed and not as related to stride, separation, or core mechanics as so many believe.