Pitching Coach Practice Plan Insight

Hello guys, I was once active on these boards as a high school and junior college pitcher. This is my first year out of college after what I considered a very rewarding career.

I have since accepted the pitching coach position at a small D3 school in the Mid-Atlantic. It’s an exciting time but I wanted to pose the question to you guys who I trusted for years. Also it’s great to see you guys are doing well and many of the regulars are still around.

What are some key things you would feature in your practice planning for a college team?

Some of my early thoughts were based on stations for my guys. I have around 20 pitchers on my staff. I could do 5 stations of 4 players.

Some thoughts:
-Dynamic Mobility Station
-PFP Station
-Jobes/Arm Care/Scap Work Station
-Conditioning Station
-Bullpens/Flat Grounds

Just looking to open a think tank here, whether you have thoughts on practice planning or not I’m welcome to hear any of your ideas.

Thanks
Coach D

I’ve watched a lot of D3 institutions, their games, practices, and so forth. Mostly on the East Cost and Mid Atlantic, some just below the Mason-Dixon Line.

From what I gathered, these clubs seem to thrive on a program that orbits -the simpler the better. Their overall scale of economy, player pool, etc. doesn’t lend itself to the dynamics of a larger organizations. Therefore, your itinerary may be a bit ambitious. I would suggest getting your feet wet first with who and what you’re dealing with. Who has the biggest bark among the other coaches and what was the track records of those that went before you as pitching coach.

On the other hand, here’s what I’ve noticed about the clubs in your line of work:
-There seems to be three or four really good players that the entire club revolves around.

-Resources are sparse, very sparse. Fund raisers are a constant way of life and be a bit haphazard at times with people showing up to help out.