Pitcher as a Fielder

In the leagues which i play, most pitchers dont go through PFP’s anymore. It makes it hard when a bunt is played cos they get the ball and throw it like a fastball and it tails bad. Im a pitcher but a 3rd basemen first. I found that it does start in the juniors where this problem occurs. What have you done to fix this problem.

P.S: im a under 12 coach and i make the pitchers do PFP’s regularly.

You find yourself in concert with Steven Ellis on this one Coach…and I am in direct opposition to your arguement.
I think it is one of the “many” things we ask must pitchers to do well. I just cannot see relegating a defender to a “non” status. Of course he must be completely focused on the matter at hand (Pitching), but that ends with the completion of his follow though. Granted, some pitchers have a motion which causes them to “fall off” either way (Steven), but consider the arm saving outs that are getting left on the table, think of the stategy that gets left out or added in because the pitcher is dead weight after he releases the ball. I don’t see you as a conservative approach skipper (More a Fundementals boosted by axiums guy) so I’m just at a loss with you and Steven on this.
I’m kind of confused by your question, at what I percieve your level to be (College), most pitchers have been the stud infielder since little league…most likely shortstops or anchor infielders, they have issues with fielding and throwing runners out?
If they have issues with accuracy, have them “follow the ball” with their body. Are they attempting to pitch the ball to first? I’ve always found a relaxed infielders grip (relaxed/spread two fingers on top of the ball) was comfortable and easy to grip without looking.