Pinch in top of shoulder

Hi All,
I’m feeling some shoulder pain when I throw and want to see if any of you have felt the same.
I’ll start from the beginning – Spring 2008 was my last season in college and I was the lead pitcher on our staff. In the last week of the season I threw 2 complete games and came in relief in the last game of my career for 2 maybe 3 innings. So this is about 20-21 innings in one week. I figured I was a senior and it was my team so I could pitch whenever I wanted the ball (I went 2-0 beating Edgewood College who we hadn’t beat in 6 years and I beat Concordia University – Chicago who was nationally recognized) I took the rest of that summer off because of extreme fatigue from the season and graduating, getting a job, place, car and all that jazz.
Fast forward to Feb 2009 and I just started playing on a mens wood bat team. We have been practicing indoors and hitting has been great, fielding great, but throwing isn’t going good at all. Whenever I throw the first 5-10 throws are ok….then the shoulder pain sets in. Whenever I throw at the height of my mechanics just as I start to bring the ball forward I get a real bad pinch in the top/middle of my shoulder. IT KILLS just for the duration of the throw. Its not a lingering or constant pain, just a brief tight pinch as I throw.
Other things to consider:

• I’m terribly out of shape
  • I haven’t been stretching much
  • Just now started doing some rubber band work (you know those little shoulder exercises most and all pitchers should do)

Please tell me this pain is normal and is just the fact that my arm and I are terribly out of shape and these are just some spring training ‘getting back into it’ pains. If it comes down to needing medical attention – do you think more arm rehab and conditioning will just allow me to play 2nd base? If I would need a surgery I prolly wouldn’t do it – cant really take away from work and procedures and rehab are expensive.