Parents not wanting you to play baseball?

I’m a college freshman and I commute to school from my home. I played baseball since I was 8 and I had to beg my dad to play for the little league. After my junior year of high school, I began to see small hints from my parents insinuating that I should stop playing and work. I had a pretty successful senior season, and it led to getting offers from NAIA universities in the Midwest. After talking with my parents, we found that turning those down and going to a NCAA D2 university near my home would be much cheaper. After talking with coaches, i have a good chance of walking on (tryout is in 2 weeks). As it gets closer and closer to the tryout date, more hints keep appearing to stop baseball, until my dad told me straight up to just move on with life and stop playing ball.
I’ve tried looking up topics like my case, but I can only find parents pushing kids to play too hard. In some cases, I understand quitting baseball and working to make money, but we aren’t exactly poor.
I can’t see my life without having baseball in my life.

Any advice?

Go for it & continue to play. My guess is if you don’t try you’ll have regets. Best wishes and best of luck!

Your parents sound like a lot of fun.

Why does your dad say they want you to stop?

I’m going to try and put this in perspective from your parent’s point of view.