Overtraining - A Serious Problem

I wrote an article to my blog (Driveline Mechanics) about the phenomenon of Overtraining and how prevalent it is in high school sports. The article can be found here:

http://www.drivelinemechanics.com/2009/10/20/1093212/training-overtraining-or-what-i

Many people on this board post workouts that are used by MLB players or college coaches, or simply make them up with 10 exercises done per day, four times a week. These are unacceptable workout plans for novices, which nearly everyone is (heck, I’m still a novice in many of my lifts).

Being a novice is not a bad thing: It means you can add weight every workout session without fear of overtraining. This assumes you have a solid workout program in place - something like Mark Rippetoe’s Starting Strength protocol or Eric Cressey’s Maximum Strength program.

An effective lifting program is simple and must (absolutely MUST) have some form of the squat in it.

“If you can’t squat, don’t bother training.” -Mark Rippetoe

Avoiding the Overhead Press is probably a good idea for pitchers, as it is a contraindicated lift for overhand throwers. However, the rest of the lifts build overall fitness and will make you a stronger (and more powerful - not the same thing as strength) athlete.

What do you think of my workout log kyle?

http://www.letstalkpitching.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=11644

[quote=“JR.Navarro34”]What do you think of my workout log kyle?

http://www.letstalkpitching.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=11644[/quote]

I think it is admirable that you are working very hard towards a very difficult goal. That being said, I think your particular workout isn’t great. You should choose a workout plan that works the entire body and uses the stabilizer muscles as well. Machines are not good - the Hack Squat is not a squat by any real definition.