Opinions appreciated

I am a pitching coach at a high school and have a senior with a lot of potential (85-87 lefty) but his struggles with control. I think it might be a mechanic related. Especially his glove hand

You look pretty solid to me - But, then I’m not a mechanic’s coach.

However, I can suggest a different approach that may be of some help. Whenever I noticed location problems, more often than not, it was because of concentration. Now I’m not saying that this pitcher above is prone to that - not being there to witness his performance game after game and his practice sessions is a huge void for me.

But, perhaps this will help some:
Below you’ll see a catcher in abstract form. In picture (1), many amateurs visualize their backstop in this manner with no real definition with respect to locations. In that way, an amateur who isn’t coached to TARTGET his backstop as locations to hit, is a pitcher without a game plan - period. Even when his backstop gives a sign - down in/down out, etc., a pitcher is still without the mental discipline of seeing his backstop as a location target … nothing more.

So, in the picture below, have your son look at his backstop while in the bullpen as a flush target to pitch at. Then pick a location… say #1 and pound that location until he can put the ball in that location about 80%. If he can’t do it, then he stops what he’s doing, and move eight (8) paces closer. Don’t go game speed here. Go about half game speed and focus on hitting that location. Now don’t be surgical about this, like in the picture on the far right. As he locates his pitches with an 80% rate, move back two (2) paces and repeat. Continue to locate his ball in that same location, repeatedly until he’s back to his full distance. Again, keep it below game speed.