Only 68MPH?

Hi everyone. Im glad I found these forums. I have been pitching since I was 5 years old in little league.

I have always been a control pitcher and was always the number 1 pitcher on my team. What made me so good at it was my control, I never threw extremely hard but I always spotted my fastball and used my slider.

At 18 I went to florida to participate in the roberto clemente baseball camp which was changes to pinstripes. I did not throw for about 5 months before that so my arm and body was not prepared to be throwing. I had a soreness in my shoulder which I thought would go away but never did…MRI didnt reveal anything however now, 5 years later, I can throw pain free. I went to ESPN zone and threw some pitches and it said 68 on all of them. One of them said 78 but that was one that got away from me and went really high.

I remember being clocked at 68MPH at some fair when i was 17 then i was 5’11 165 pounds. now I am 23 6’ 200 pounds.

Even though I havnt thrown in so long I still feel like the ball is traveling much faster than the 68 MPH it reads. I mean im topping out at the same speed as El duque’s slow curve? I have always been complimented on my smoothe delivery and proper mechanics so I dont think thats a problem.

I would really appreciate any insight on this. Lets say I really do throw 68mph without any conditioning…what would be my velocity potential?

hmm maybe post some mechanics to help a bit

im 15 5`8 135 and i throw 65 with good acruaccy so its odd someone so big would thorw less

Post up some video so we can start by taking a look at your mechanics to identify any defficiencies.

hey thanks for the replies guys!

I dont have any vids of myself.

The crazy thing is since elementary school i was always the kid who threw the hardest, i was always known as the kid who can throw hard.

I cant say im in the best of shape though but my mechanics have always been good.