Old farts can pitch too

This is my first post, and is my way of introducing myself to the rest of the forum. I am a 53 year old baseball player, and play in several leagues in the CT and MA area. One league is a 18+ and the other two are 30+. I’ve been playing since 2002, and started pitching in 2004. There seems to have been a real resurgence in 30+, 40+, etc. amateur baseball, based on the number of leagues that have formed since the mid 1990’s, and the number of great tournaments that interested teams of older players can play in. Check out some of the adult baseball web sites, such as MSBL, NABA, Roy Hobbs, as well as independently formed leagues across the country; it’s amazing! Check out www.qvotb.com, www.tnbdomeball.com and www.pvotb.com for starters.

As an older player, I hope this sparks some conversation that includes the some of the amateurs that have come back to game of their childhood and young adulthood. Players in the leagues I’m in have played college ball, had pro tryouts, played in high school, or haven’t played since little league. They are players of widely varying skills and abilities, but all love the game.

I am a pitcher, and have taught myself what I know by practicing, reading and watching. I consider Steve’s web site an invaluable resource for discussing and learning the craft of pitching. I workout regularly, and currently I’m continuing my off-season conditioning. I do weight work every other day, and do Jobe exercises on the off days. I normally do running also, in the gym over the winter, and outside when spring weather starts. However, I had achilles tendon surgery in December, so I won’t be running again until April. My seasons start in May, when I hope to be back to 100%.