Off-season Core Work

hey im a freshman. im just wondering if by any chance i can get a link to a weekly off-season core program or exact list of what workouts i should be performing to have a better pitching core…

thanks…

I have a bunch of exercises. PM if you want them!

Dear David:

Good to hear your getting ready for the 2006-2007 season. The core, as you know, is one of the key factors helping to produce effective velocity and mechanics during the delivery. Surprisingly, the spine and lower back is just as important for training purposes. This year, our pitching staff has incorporated yoga stretching and motions into our abdominal workout. The prone series, plank/dog pose, and swiss ball work have really helped our players improve their strength in the core region. All of the exercises are super easy and will help the development of strength in the abdominals, gluets, and lower back. That way, not only will you be throwing harder, but you will be HEALTHY as well.

Good Luck…

Dear David:

Check out the following link:

www.brianmac.demon.co.uk/corestabex.htm

This website displays great yoga stretches that you can perform to strengthen your core muscles.

Good Luck…

CoachKreber I am glad you posted some yoga stuff, because I was just going to post a question about this. What do you think about incorporating yoga/pilates into your daily workout routine, is it good for pitchers or not?

hey corazon can you sedn me a pm of those excersises you have? thanks

Gentlemen:

I really think this type of training is the way of the future in sports. Many colleges are turning to these static strength drills to improve functional strength and fitness. In 2005, there was an excellent Sport’s Illustrated article outlining the Washington Redskins OL yoga and core workouts. These workouts were based on yoga and pillates exercises.