Nutrition for a high schooler

So i’m a 17 year old in my junior year of high school. i work out with the school pitching coach monday wednesday friday and am about to start up my offseason hitting which is usually pretty strenuous as i tend to get in a whole lot of swings. my problem is i live in a family of zero athletes where nutrition is looked upon as finish your dinner, and you should want seconds. the basic three meals a day, cereal and milk for breakfast type diet. but with the upcoming season on its way, i really want to figure out my diet to bring me to the next level for the oh so important junior year season. if anyone could give me some tips or a plan it would be appreciated. keep in mind i’m a full time student but i could pack my own lunch from now on if thats whats needed. the school serves a collection of pastas or grinders with options of several kinds of sandwiches, chicken patties the usual. with pizza and a salad choice each day topped with breaded chicken. any help would be appreciated

what are your goals? how much research have you done on what it’s going to take to achieve those goals?

well i’m about six feet and 195 pounds. i’ve battled weight for a while but i’m actually not fat at all now. i play point guard on the school team so i don’t think a fat kid could really do that. haha. but i’m certainly not looking to gain weight. as i do have fat on me. i’d say i’m between 16-20% body fat which i calculated in school pfit class. so a diet that would allow me to transfer some of that extra fat into muscle. i’m looking to get into the best shape of my life this winter and also maybe get 5 pounds of unneeded fat off of my knees. haha. i hope that explains something

You should probably be looking to gain about 15lbs of lean mass. Lose about 10lbs of fat in the process and eventually you should be up to a lean 200lbs, which is a pretty good size at 6 feet tall.