My Quest to Varsity

This is my game log. I’m 16 years old, I’m in 11th grade, and I’m on the JV team. This is my first time ever being on a school team. I weigh 172 pounds and I’m 5’8. I’m a pitcher, and nothing else. This thread is for posting my game wrap ups and what problems I have everytime I’m in a game.

The reason I’m on JV is because all of the coaches wanted to see if I can respond on the JV level, then if they are convinced that I can possibly pitch on the varsity level, then they’ll call me up. My goal is to get called up to Varsity at any cost, but to do that, I have to pitch well.

My first game was about a little over a week ago. I pitched 3 innings while giving up 2 runs on a throwing error. But the runners that scored reached base from basehits that they got off of the starting pitcher, who I replaced in the 5th innings with no outs. But I pitched 3 innings, had 3 strikeouts, and 2 unearned runs.

Today we had a double header and I was the starting pitcher for the 2nd game. In the first inning, I gave up 2 runs, but then got out of it without anymore damage. I had a 1-2-3 second inning, but in the 3rd inning, I gave up 4 runs. Overall I pitched 3 innings and gave up 6 runs on 7 hits. My problem today was that I kept leaving offspeed pitches up in the zone, and they just killed them. Also, I couldent pitch comfortably in the stretch at all. When I pitched in the stretch, I had no power in my pushoff, below average control, and no velocity. And to top it all off, I couldent keep my changeup down, and whenever it was down, it always went in the dirt before it even reached the plate.

I already know that I need to work on pitching from the stretch more, but what can I do to work on keeping my offspeed pitches low at a consistent pace?