My pitching mechanics - advice please

Hi everyone…

Well I decided it would be a good time to get some criticism on my throwing… as I mentioned in a post, I decided to start throwing lefty after throwing righty for 30+ years. I’ve been doing it for about 2 1/2 months, and thought early advice would be good to get rid of improper technique…

The first minute or so is just throwing, then I go into a stretch… At first look, it appear I throw too upright - that I should be bending more at the torso? It seems I’m close to high cocked position at footstrike, I can’t tell if I get the hip shoulder seperation - maybe a little if any…

Thanks in advance!!

http://s120.photobucket.com/albums/o167/ebkcontainers/?action=view&current=Throwing1.flv

something I said? No comments?

ebkcontainers
Sorry for the lack of responses. I’m not going to make you much happier because I’m going to ask for better video. I’d like to see a full effort throw, preferably from a mound. We also would need another angle to really do a good job.

You’ve got a very short backswing which isn’t necessarily bad but it would become a timing issue to deal with. See Billy Wagner.

Although it’s better than nothing, I’m not too fond of the photobuckt or youtube videos because I can’t step through them frame by frame and really see what’s going on. If you have this in a format that Quicktime will open, that’s best.

If you get some better video and another angle, in a better format, like avi, mov, mpg, let us know and maybe you could email them to me and some of the others here who are interested in helping however they can.

That would be the best. Sorry for not giving you more. Actually, other than the arm action, it looks like you’ve got some very good mechanics there. I’d just like to see them in a more complete format.

I agree with DM that your throwing in that video doesn’t look like full effort. It would be better for us to review full effort because things will be different.