My Future

Hey guys, I have a question. I am wondering how fast do you need to throw to play college ball then go on to the minor leagues. I know everyone says it’s now about how fast you throw, just say it is for now

I’m a 14 year old freshman in HighSchool and tryouts just finished and I was clocked at 79MPH consistent and accurate. (Made the JV team) I was wondering what you think I can hit by senior year. I’m planning on going to a D2 school if I can make it, then play class A if It’s possible.

If you have an idea on how fast the average college & minor league pitcher throw in Class A, AA and AAA that would be helpful, thanks!

Velocity varies at the college level. Majority of D1 pitchers will be in the 85 to 90 range on average, and even faster. Some will be slower. It all just depends on what arm you throw with, your stuff (curve, slider, etc), your size, and projection to get better. D2 school pitchers throw between 82 and 88 on average, but once again they got the 90 guys as well. I play for an NAIA team, and the velocity varies greatly from game to game. We see kids who throw 90, and then kids who can barely touch 80. It depends the program you go too as well. I’m a freshmen at the NAIA level and I throw 85-87 range. D3 is much like the NAIA, lots of mixed velocities. 80 to 86 on average for D3 ball. The minor league pitchers no matter what class they play in can bring it. Many minor league pitchers can bring it 90+ mph.
Since you are already throwing 79 mph, I would assume you would be able to throw at least mid 80’s by senior year. Your velocity will depend on your genetics, muscle development and so on. I can’t truly predict your velocity, but if you work hard enough you should be pumping gas :slight_smile:

Velo will get you in the door but if you can’t pitch you wont last long. Just keep working and dont worry about 4 years down the road just the day ahead.