Minor (8-11) Pitching Rotation Strategy

Need to see if this is sound advice. I was an assistant coach last year and I’ve decided to take a team myself this year as a manager. I pitched in HS and College and I work with my pitchers every practice. Our division is 11-8 kid pitch. We drafted a very mature and strong team with 4 ‘starters’ and 2 -4 bullpen pitchers. My goal is to get the 2-4 bullpen pitchers into starter mode while keeping my starters fresh. We play our games on Thursdays and Saturdays so 1 day of rest between for half our games and the other half with 5 days rest.

Given the above, what are the thoughts about keep all pitchers under 35 pitches so they can pitch with 1 day rest for those Thursday - Saturday games vs. maxing out (assuming in control) on Saturdays. I was thinking 1 inning per ace but I definitely want to make the investment in my 2-4 bullpen pitchers as the ROI is extreme if we hit gold in developing 1-2 into starters.

Obviously if any kid starts getting shell shocked or just doesn’t have it, then the pitch count is irrelevant and we move up another ‘starter’ into that spot which would then give another chance for us to develop our bullpen pitchers. Many other coaches in my league will assign pitchers to pitch against a certain team and will max them out of pitches no matter how they are throwing, which I feel is completely the wrong approach. I’d prefer fresh arms especially at the beginning of the season with low pitch counts so if we get into a jam, anyone can pitch.

Sorry about the long winded post but interested in what people have to say.

I assume the league rule is >35 pitches=1 day of required rest. 34 or fewer pitches on Thursday preserves the pitcher for Saturday. Probably not the best plan to pitch an 8-11 year old with one day of rest, regardless of the number of pitches. Also, 7-8 arms is a luxury on an 8-11 team. Usually you are looking at 3 arms–one of which is a bit shaky.