Learning New Pitches - Having Trouble

I am currently 14. I pitch every other game for my rec team. I pitch about 60-65. I only know fastball and I am learning curveball and it’s so weird to throw. Every time I throw it it goes in the dirt or really low and outside, WAY outside. Is this normal? Should I switch to learning only off speed pitches? My goal is to play high school baseball at a travel or school type of competition.

Without seeing video of your physical makeup, your current pitching style, and so forth it’s kind of difficult to make suggestions. On the other hand, I’m not a mechanic’s coach, so in all honestly I’m going to suggest things that I’ve used with mature pitchers who have had other issues, but trying to get back in the swing of things.

I would suggest taking everything that’s right with your fastball and using that as a platform for most of the pitches that you’ll be experimenting with. The only exception, that I’ve found with this approach, is with a knuckleball. But then again, that’s me.

So, use your fastball posture to experiment with … oh… say an off-speed pitch. I say an off-speed pitch because you’re using all the body motion of the fastball, but the grip is the only thing that changes. So concentrate on throwing strikes with this grip. There are a ton of “how to” on the web to help you.