Leaning forward

Is there any problems with leaning forward slightly when striding towards home plate? I noticed that a lot of big leaguers do it but am just curious if it has any reprocussions such as control or movement? I do and throw from a three quarters arm slot and am wondering if it has any negative impact on my career?

Heres some examples:
http://blog.masslive.com/redsoxmonster/2008/04/large_beckettready.jpg

http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0dR34Q89ky9WS/610x.jpg

I am not a mechanic expert but I do believe it is good to have at least a little lean forward. You definitely do not want to be leaning backwards as I know what as negative effects but you should be fine with leaning forward.

leaning forward (toward your belly button not toward the plate is a good thing. some call this staying in the tunnel. allows you to rotate and square up much easier. ryan was outstanding at this.

This is a good thing. These pitchers are simply adopting a strong posture - one that allows them to stabilize posture and balance throughout their delivery. Pitchers who don’t do start with such a posture end up adjusting into it during the delivery which creates unnecessary movement during the delivery.

BTW, this is completely analogous to a batter’s stance/posture.

Dusty,
I haven’t really heard this term before could you elaborate?

What would happen next?

Thanks in advance,

Ed

BTW, welcome oldman. Glad to have you here.

thanks for the feedback, I will try to get a video of me when I can. I lean forward and was always concerned about it but it seems that it may not be a concern and may even be a good thing.