Late arm break

I’ve been watching video’s of many professional pitchers and comparing them to me. I noticed a lot of them separate their hands from their glove a lot later than i do. Then they don’t seem to have a full arm swing, just down and back till the arm is at about 90, then they bring it forward. Is this good? i break my hands much earlier, when my leg starts to go down after the leg kick. Then i take it down, back, and up. Which is better?

I was watching the Little League World Series when I was younger and I remember the announcers were watching the pitchers mechanics and said that the his hands should be breaking when his leg starts to come down.(Tim Lincecum does this.)

They might bring the arm back to 90 to help control the running game. Then they just don’t change mechanics when pitching from the wind up.

I’m not an expert but I would say whatever is comfortable. Bringing your arm all the way back and up would probably get more velocity because there is more time for the arm to gather speed but it takes more time to deliver the pitch. Another problem with one or the other is rushing or having too much arm lag.

It’s all a matter of timing. Your arm action has to be timed to the rest of your delivery so that everything happens at the right time with no unnecessary delays at any point.

Yeah i feel comfortable with mine, I just thought it was kind of weird. i just noticed that Francisco Rodriguez had a late break and then had a weird arm swing.