Knuckle-Curve

I have been reccomended the knuckle curve by fellow side arm pitcher Zita Carno.
So I went out and learned the grip, got out the improv backstop up against the tree, and threw afew. I dont know if I’m not snapping hard enough or getting enough spin. But it looks like something i just wanna be a batter for. A nice, slow, easy ball to crush. It breaks just a little bit, and it looks just so slow. What should I do? Any tips? Thanks!

This might help.

Thank you! That explains alot! I was trying to flip my wrist like a regular curveball. Thanks for the great video

mussina did flicked his wrist like a regular curveball. so did sandy koufax.

this pitch he’s talking about is a good little league breaking ball but it’s very rare that somebody gets it to work good enough for it to be sucessful at a higher level. you need some pretty big and strong fingers.

that palmball hes talking about though is correct and is exactly the pitch i’ve been throwing for the last 10 years.this is not a regular change up but a kind of forkball for people with smaller hands.

I was starting to think that… What is the best way then? Neither really broke as exxagerated as I heard knuckle curves do.

i dont know how old you are and i dont know how much you know about pitching but i’ll just tell you that, a breaking ball isnt just about the amount of break more than the sharpness of it. if you can get a good bite on it, go for it. the later the break the better even if it only breaks 3 inches. the thing about knuckle curves or spike curves usually is the fact that people usually get it to start on a flat trajectory to the plate unlike a regular curveball that usually starts by going up a little then breaks down. it’s a different view and it looks a lot more like a fastball or change up until it dives down hard.