Just got gunned

Hey guys,

My pitching coached gunned me on thursday. It was all on flat ground, and he had me do step-behind throws, windup, and stretch.
I topped at 77 on step-behinds, 75 in the windup, and 72 in the stretch.

So, I have two questions. First, would i be able to produce a couple more mph from a mound? Also, I am a high school sophomore, and I was just wondering where I stand right now when it comes to velocity? I’ll be doing an intensive velocity program over the summer that my pitching coach runs and he thinks I can at least get it up to 81 ish in 4 months.

Thanks

isnt velocity supose to increase from flatground to mound? i got clocked at 90 on flatground but went to mound and mechanics kinda changed from the slope(hadent been goin off mound to much since acl surgery) did your coach say anything like that to you?

what are step behinds? jw
are they as simple as they sound?

[quote=“TravisBaseball17”]what are step behinds? jw
are they as simple as they sound?[/quote]

Step behinds are basically like a crow hop starting with a step from behind with your back leg.

Well he has me do most of my work from flat ground because it’s less stress on the arm and helps me keep better mechanics, which is what the focus is on right now.

I thought it was the other way around SP1B. Since you are throwing at a downward angle, you arm should mave less resistence when you pitch. shrug That was my thinking anyways. You should be able to throw much harder on a mound though because of the slope. What do you guys think?

Well thats not a bad way of thinking of it, but according to Tom House in his many books, working on the mound puts a lot more stress on the arm. I’ll go back through and try to find exactly what he says, I think there was a percentage…