Is this a strike?


#1

1.)The pitcher delivers and the pitch bounces in the dirt right in front of home plate then continues across the center of the plate and right across the batter’s strike zone, then the catcher catches the ball. Is the pitch called … “STRIKE !”

2.) The pitcher delivers and the pitch goes right down the pike, right across the center of the plate and right across the batter’s strike zone … BUT… the catcher is so far back that the pitch literally dies, drops down in front of him - in the dirt, the bounces up and the catcher catches it in his mitt.
Is the pitch called … “STRIKE !”

Careful on the second one, it’s not as easy as you might think. The basic definitions of the simplest terms in baseball apply here. Know the rules and you’re one-leg up on a lot of guys.

Coach B.


#2

Situation one is a ball - IF, the batter takes it looking. IF, the batter were to swing and miss, swing and foul, we’d get a strike marked on the batter and other actions per the rules.

Situation two - a STRIKE! What can confuse some, is that ball hitting the dirt - BUT, in this case, the ball did go pass the plate before doing so, but still went through the strike zone.

Now here’s an added wrinkle, suppose there’s no one on first, no outs, and the count is three balls and two strikes, and situation two happend. What rules would apply.
******** If your a coach with a rookie catcher, you might want to brush up on this one ********

Coach B.


#3

A common misconception in baseball is that of a “dropped third strike.” Technically, it is an “uncaught third strike.” Many believe that as long as the catcher hangs on to the ball as soon as it comes to him, that it is not “dropped,” so the runner cannot run. This is not true. If the ball touches the ground, it is officially “uncaught” (think of a fly ball that is caught on the hop–is the batter out?) So, even if the catcher catches the ball “on the hop,” it is still an uncaught third strike. The batter can run and the catcher must tag or throw him out.


#4

[color=blue]
Odin
[/color]

Exactly! Outstanding point-for-point response.

Coach B.