Is it true that batters mostly process pitch in middle third of flight?

I read this somewhere. It said it the first third you only see it like blurry and don’t really get information and the last third you also can’t really track it so the information comes from the middle third of the pitch flight.

Is that true and what does it mean for pitchers?

This is a very good question.

However, the answer(s) can go in many directions at once. So let me attempt to boil down the answer(s) in general terms.

Ball recognition is usually a quality that’s found all up and down the batting order. Hence, as a pitching coach, I spent a considerable amount of my time watching and listening to batting coaches. Why? Because these guys were my opposite number. Figure them out, and all the better.
So, those batters that had better ball recognition than others, were in the top of the batting order. Those with less ball recognition, were lower on the ladder.
I took the time to ask these guys on every club that I was with, all up and down the batting order - how? “How do you do it?” Here’s the answers that I got: