Is it enough?

Im a red shirt freshman at one of the top division 2 programs in the country.
I have tried to increase my velocity for years now…but im starting to think that im just not meant to throw hard. I have had injuries to both my shoulder and elbow the past two years, neither of which required surgery. My question is…will i be appealing to scouts as a 6’5" 185 lbs lefty pitcher who throws lower 3/4 at about 80-82 fastball and what ive been told to be a major league slider by a professional pitching director/coach as well as a average change up. Is it too late to develop some velocity, i still have 4 years of eligibility.

If its UTampa, Florida Southern, Franklin Peirce or Mount Olve than you always have a shot.

I don’t believe that people aren’t “born to throw hard” Some on here will argue the opposite.

I was 5’10 155 pounds as a freshman in college throwing 84-85

My senior year i’m 5’11 185 pounds throwing 89-92 and it is from working hard the last 4 years and not giving up.

I suggest you do the same and not give up if baseball means the world to you.

I suggest you keep playing as long as you love to pitch. You will not know until you climb that mountain. There is nobody that can see into the future regarding velocity.

My son is a freshman on a Conference Carolinas team. He probably has a dream just like yours. Live the dream don’t let the dream live you.

Don’t worry about the future right now, you’re a 6’5 lefty that puts you at a advantage over many people. You’ve got a lot of years to develop just keep throwing who knows where your velocity will end up.

The way that I have always been taught is like this.

Is what you are doing working?

Yes --> Dont worry about it

No --> Change something