Instructing

I graduated from college this spring and got hired as pitching and hitting instructor by a national baseball training company. And I’ve got my first lesson with a younger ball player (he is 10) tonight but i don’t really know how to approach the main issue he has, which is a total lack of confidence when the opposing pitcher is bringing a little more heat then he is accustomed to seeing. I don’t have much experience with this particular issue because it’s not one I’ve had since t-ball, so I figured I’d ask the baseball community.

Do any of you, preferably someone older with coaching experience (but any advice is welcome), have any suggestions on how to handle his confidence issues?

I’d like to be up front here … I’m not at all familiar with the amateur game, nor am I accustomed to figuring things out for a ten (10) year old and such. But I can relate to your situation of dealing with someone that has issues with seeing something new – sort of.

The youngster in question is at a good age to receive some frank talk, along with his parents. I’d say that ten (10) years old is a good time to realize how nervous everyone feels about learning something new and stepping into bigger shoes. Like trying on a pair of skates for the first time, or riding a bigger bike than ones use to. Experience of actually “doing it, the first couple of times,” is the right of passage that we all had to address at one time or another. No coach or combination of coaches in this sport can fit that experience neatly into a lesion and have any youngster walk away a happy camper.