Inner elbow soreness: An annual battle for 16 year old

Hello,
My 16 year old son has been battling his 3rd year in a row of early season inner elbow/forarm soreness. Last year, as a Freshman, he got through it and posted a 2-1 record in JV/Varsity and went on to a 3-1 record (2.40 ERA) in Legion ball. So he historically gets through it. This year, he did a progressive throwing and bullpen program, but towards the end, when he ratcheted it up to 85%-90%, he started getting sore again.

He rested and iced for a couple of weeks and was doing well, but he pitched this past weekend in a Varsity scrimmage and came out after 2 affective innings, only to have an elbow relapse.

Here is a clip of him pitching, done by his Legion staff, about a month ago.

Thanks,

Jim[/youtube]

I’m no expert, so don’t get me wrong, but it looks like he’s throwing across his body, which I have had trouble with, and when you throw across your body, you get inner elbow soreness

it looks like hes throwing across his body but not to the point where it would do any hard to his elbow

also, i know this is sort of off topic but i dont agree with the tape drill he shows, many MLB pitchers kick theyre leg out even more than your son…

e.g

johan santana

Papelbon

k-rod

these are all pitchers who throw 90+ so they have very little wasted movement

but back on topic, your sons mechanics look solid, nothing that stands out when looking for something that would cause inner elbow pain

The analysis in the video itself is actually pretty good. Gives you some nice things to work on.