Injury question

I’ve recently gotten an MRI on my throwing shoulder and learned that I have internal impingement or “throwers shoulder”, my doctor said I will need 4 to 6 weeks of rehabilitation and no throwing during that time period.

I was just curious if you knew of any people who have had this injury, and did they come back to top form. Right now my shoulder is very weak and it gets tired almost instantly. In my games before I got the MRI i was just playing 2nd and I felt my arm tire during warmups…that’s when i finally decided to get the MRI done.

I’m no expert (…and I didn’t stay at a Holiday Inn last night either :lol: ) but I did suffer an impingement injury about 15 years ago. In my case, it was explained by a sports orthopedic doctor that I had “stretched” the ligaments holding my shoulder’s ball securely in the joint. So the shoulder joint did not move smoothly when I used my arm…and it hurt like hell. The only way I could raise my arm over my head was if I slowly lifted my arm directly out in front of my body. If I moved it any other way, I literally did not have the strength to move it.

Now, I did not see a doctor right away. In fact for several years! In the mean time, it took me over 6 months before I could lift my arm over my head and even then it was weak and hurt. It never did heal right on it’s own and I continued having difficulty moving it around, so I finally went to the doctor who gave me the diagnosis.

The good new: All I had to do was shoulder exercises using therabands. It was painful, to be sure, but after a few weeks I had no more pain and my arm felt great!! Apparently, the exercises strengthened the ligament, tendon, muscle holding my shoulder joint together.

The moral of the story: Listen to the doctor, do your rehab, and your arm should be fine.

well i am going to do the rehab, i was just wondering if the injury sticks around with you…yours sounds ALOT worse them mine