Hypercritical Managers

Would appreciate any feedback and thoughts on our situation. Here it is:

My son is 10 and in his first season of Little League Majors (he was in LL Minors last season). I am a lowly Coach. The Manager and his Assistant Manager are unbelievably critical of the players. I have never seen anything like it. This is not constructive criticism I am talking about. It’s hypercriticism: criticism of everyone for everything, during practices, during games, on the field, in the dugout, you name it. I mean, even when a player does something right, they harp on something he did wrong. The season just started, and I’m concerned what affect this will have on the players. I’m there for my son to protect him from this crap, but he’s been on the receiving end of it too. In his first game he got a nice hit to the outfield and eventually scored our first run of the game, and when he came jogging off the field after sliding into home plate the only thing the Manager told him was that he should have slid into second base (actually there was no play at second so there was no need to slide, but that’s another matter). WTF? Really? That’s all the Manager had to say after a great hit and scoring? I wish there were a way to request a transfer to another team but in Little League - at least ours anyway - once you are in Majors you are stuck on that team. Oh, and don’t tell me to take it up with the league president - he’s our Manager.

This is going to be a long season.

One of the measures of a man is his ability to act like a man. However, some
measure others by the loss of anything in their own lives.

It seems to help these kind of people to be down-n-out on everybody but
themselves. Thus the disappointments that they experience is shared by others
which are elected to bear the brunt of their venting.

Those that are targeted are usually the very young, the weak, and those lacking
experience of the world around them. Women can be particularly open to abuse