How to throw a change-up

what the title says lol i feel silly for asking, but I am using a circle change grip and its way outta control, either high, or outside. Do I throw it just as hard as a fastball? my hands are 8" exact. can someone post a pic of a grip I should use and how to throw it?

What is your age, the circle change-up is more of an advanced type of pitch that is best thrown when a little older.

im 15, how about a 3 fingered change?

That is more of a beginers pitch and if the circle-change doesn’t work too well I’d suggest you to try that. I never could throw a change-up real well. Instead I throw somewhat of a forkball change-up. But for being in love with this website I’m not too serious of a pitcher and will most likely only pitch my senior year. But I will pitch in the summer. The way i throw mine is I really choke the ball like a forkball, and just whip it through, I have some experience with it and have decent control, it’s a very hard pitch to control and took a little while but it works good and my high school coach likes it. Unless I stay down on JV I won’t even pitch but I have fun so it’s all good.

Regardless of the grip you use, you need to sell it as a fastball. This means same mechanics, same arm slot, same arm speed, and same release point as your fastball. Trust the grip to take something off and keep everything else the same. If the grip doesn’t take enough off, try pronating (only to your comfort level) and/or try another grip. Pronating might also get you some movement.

Yikes! i would never tell anyone they are too young to throw a changeup. Are you suggesting they should only throw fastballs?

the change up is the most valuable pitch in baseball and it isn’t taught enough to younger kids because the fastball and curveball are so glorified.

Roger’s got it…grip is secondary , fastball arm action is primary. Experiment to find what works for you …