How to start pitching?

Hi. I’m 14, and I recently started playing baseball after a strange revelation i had (I suddenly decided to be a MLB player… a lofty goal, hahaha). I have NO EXPERIENCE IN BASEBALL, until like two days ago. Right now, I can catch quite decently with a mitt. I can also throw (SHORT DISTANCE) with a bit more comfort than before.

After contemplating with my friend (who helped me practcie) what position I should attempt to play/learn, I decided to be a pitcher. YES I KNOW! Pitching is one of the most difficult things to learn in baseball, yet I want to be one. I know how funny it is that someone who has no experience in baseball actually dreams of learning to pitch right away, but please, no hate messages. :wink:

What I want to ask is, what can I do right now to start being a pitcher? Many websites I’ve visited for information is quite confusing, because they mostly give advice for “established” pitchers. I need concrete information for a beginner - someone who doesn’t even know the basics/stance/mechanics of pitching.

Can you please give me some information on how to pitch? Also, I’m fairly on the weak side (so i started weight lifting and running to increase endurance/strength). What muscles must I develop to be good at pitching? Also, what should I do during my first 3 months as a baseball learner?

Wow! That’s quite a tall order you’ve got there. Here you are, an absolute beginner who wants and needs to learn everything there is to know about pitching. Well, the best advice I can give you is to find a really good pitching instructor, someone with experience working with tyros such as yourself and who can and will start with the basics and teach you what you need to know.