How To Increase Velocity After Long Injury

Hello,

I am a recent High School graduate, and attending a top JUCO in my state starting Freshman year. This Spring I got an MRI that showed a partially torn UCL, and had to get a PRP injection which resulted in no throwing or lifting for 3 months. Prior to the injury I was hitting 85 consistently, and as of now I can’t touch 80. I have been doing band workouts, long toss, and pitching lessons regularly, and I was wondering if there was anything additional I should be doing to get back up to the mid 80s. This loss of velocity and control has been making me very frustrated.

Thanks,
Rob

Has a qualified doctor confirmed that your arm is definitely back to its pre-injury state? Because if not, that could explain the loss of velocity and control.

Yes we did a 3 month post PCP injection visit and the ligament has been fully restored. I think my main reason for loss of velo is that my mechanics have severely took a beating in the off time (at least that’s what my pitching coach says)

One of the things that can happen is a reluctance, even subconscious reluctance to really let it rip.
Post injury throwing is one thing physically but can be tough mentally.
When you say your mechanics have taken a beating…dont know what that means…have they changed or just out of sync?

Agree with fearsome that the mental side of recovery is equally important as the physical side. Regarding your mechanics, post some video so we can take a look.