How important is height

I’m a freshman in high school standing a hair under 5’10 (almost done growing) and before you say worry about throwing strikes before not being tall enough I’d really like some honest opinions. It seems like nowadays every RHP is over 6’2. If you saw a well polished 5’10 kid throwing 90 with plus secondary pitches would you take him over a 6’4 kid with a lanky frame and a high 70’s low 80’s fastball who may have more “potential”

It’s all relative.
There are plenty of scouts who think it’s all-important and won’t consider anyone who is under 6’4". And there are plenty of other scouts who think that height is not all that important, that it’s all about ability, what kind of stuff the pitcher has and what he can do with it, the ability to locate pitches and throw strikes. It really takes all kinds; I’ve seen relative shrimps who have absolutely filthy stuff, such as Bobby Shantz who was 5’6" if he was an inch and was one of the best pitchers in either league; guys like Eddie Lopat, Whitey Ford who were under six feet; gargantuans like Jeff Nelson and Randy Johnson—all kinds of pitchers of varying heights, all of whom could cut the mustard and then some. It’s what you do with what you have, and don’t let anyone tell you any different. What would have happened if, for example, Phil Rizzuto—a relative shrimp—was told he was too small and he should forget about playing baseball and go home and get a shoeshine box? No, don’t let that hold you back. Go ahead and give it everything you’ve got, go for it, and if you have what it takes you can certainly make it in the majors. 8) :slight_smile:

Pedro Martinez is 5’9" I believe. There’s a power pitcher who was initially scouted as too fragile. He had a pretty good career.

Any scout that would blindly over look everyone under a certain height is worthless. A lot of these guys are in the position of having to justify their recommendations. The end result is you end up with a cookie cutter approach.