How come baseball is so messed up?

How is it that all those coaches have different opinions about just about everything?
I mean…after 100 years of evolution most of the stuff should be clear as day right?
examples:
long tossing for pitchers…
some say it kills the action…some say it strenghten the arm.

pitching from the windup…
some say its outdated…some say its how its supposed to be

hershiser drill vs pushing off

rotational hitting vs. linear hitting…

etc etc etc…

As a coach myself i am forced to take a golden route through the middle…how come there are no absolutes as in many other sports?

I could post this in the other forum but i like it here-)

tnx!

This is such an outstanding post/question. Here’s my take on it.
I’m going to use myself as an example, in addition to observations that I’ve made over the years. I’m not going to address amateur baseball to answer your question. I have little experience in this area.

When I started out in the mid 70’s, I was called an Associate Coach – short for a goffer, go-for-this-go-for-that. The man that I reported to was the Pitching Coach. I followed his lead at every turn, without exception. So, in effect I was a carbon copy of man of his generation, his training (or lack thereof), his way of doing things. As time went on, I notice other clubs did things differently – a lot different. So, without delay, I’d ask why, how come, what’s with that?

What I found was, every single pitching coach was a carbon copy of who their mentors were. In every case, all mentors were stuck in time, comfortable with what they had and how they did things – after all it worked, don’t mess with it.