Hello..

Thanks for the site. I have been a pitching coach for a top NAIA program for the past 11 years. I signed a pitcher last Fall who has a power arm, but he told me from the outset he was seeing a private instructor. I agreed to let him keep seeing the instructor when time permitted as a prerequisite to signing him. He has control problems which are easily identified, but when I try to work with him he says he’ll tell his instructor what I’m seeing and have the instructor work with him to correct the problems. I want to live up to my agreement but I find this ridiculous. How would you handle this situation ? Thanks.

Welcome to LTP Coach.

My Suggestion… Let him and his “Pitching Coach” Fail on the field. It is evident that he thinks his private coach knows it all. If you try and change him and he continues to fail, he will blame you and not the other coach.

Remember, 18yr olds know it all… Once he fails enough, realizes, on his own, that he needs to do something different and comes asking for your help, then and only then will you know he will be willing to listen to your advice. Then you can straighten him out.

FYI check out the “General Pitching Advice” forum. That is where many of the pitching questions like this are discussed.

Again, Welcome aboard,

Scott

Welcome aboard!