Hello just wanted to introduce myself

i’m tom parice 19 year old and i’ve been pitching for 10 years now. i throw around 91-92 the 4-seamer and i have a 75-80 mph forkball. that i’ve been using since i’m 15 year old. i used to throw a a regular changeup as my off speed pitch since i couldnt get a curveball to break properly and i got introduced to my father’s friend who used to pitch for the expos AAA minor league team in 1980s and he shown me how to throw a forkball the way he did and since then i’ve been primarly a forkballer where my fastball is essentially my change-up in a way. the pitch acts somehow like a knuckleball so it kind of works the same. just wanted to let you know i’ll be out there to answer and learn and i hope you guys will be cool.

Welcome. I also use a forkball as my “change-up”. Nice to see I’m not alone.

91-92 mph fastball with a 75 mph forkball? contreras has this stuff and is a major league pitcher. maybe you’re bragging a little?

you’re probably throwing a splitter too. i don’t think there is a lot of forkballers around.

and he’s getting rocket like crazy also. nah but speaking about contreras he does have some good movement on his forkball which looks a bit like mine but i dont throw from like 10 different ar slots. i just throw high 3/4 with some tailling action inside on leftys (im a lefty) with the 4-seamer and mostly downward action on the forkball sometimes it can go straight to the right and sometimes it acts like a screwball. i’m trying to really get an understanding of how this pitch works so i can reduce the number of passed alls and wild pitches last year i had 15 WP.

oh and forkballers are a lost civilization only because nobody know exctly what a real one is. they all think it’s a splitter with more movement

Well I just substituted a fork for my change becuase I didn’t like throwing the change-up. I just choke it so much that when it comes out theres little spin. A little though.