Good warmup?

Hi-
I’m new to coaching kids pitch (travel level 9U) and want to make sure my kids approach their warmups appropriately.
How should I structure the warmup?
How far in advance of getting on the mound?
What about positional warmups? (I currently have them go through 20 throws in progressions- just arm/wrist flick (5), power position feet forward (5) and then 10 2-step throws.
Any guidance or suggestions would be great.
Thanks!
Best,
Charles

Welcome to LetsTalkPitching!

Google “dynamic warm-up”. It’s about incorporating movement, recruiting muscles, and truly raising body temperature.

I follow the philosophy: warm-up to throw, don’t throw to warm up.
http://letstalkpitching.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=21553#21553][u]This thread[/u
has a description of a routine I used when I was coaching. We did this routine before every practice and every game. You can get through the routine in about 20 minutes. And it incorporates some strength and flexibility work while warming up. Follow up this routine by playing catch. Make sure to enforce good throwing mechanics while playing catch - don’t let them practice/reinforce bad habits.

BTW, the whole team did this - not just the pitchers.

Roger-
that’s exactly our philosophy on the warm up- we never let our players touch a ball until they’ve warmed up their bodies. I love your approach- thanks for sending the link- I’ll definitely incorporate it into our practices.
Do you have any thoughts on how to warm up arms via throwing drills or can we move on to regular drills after that warmup?
Thanks so much!
Best,
Charles

The warm-up I described in that other thread can leave the kids feeling like they just did a bit of a work-out so I like to follow it up by playing catch to get the arms feeling back to normal. Have them start off nice and easy and at a short distance. They can increase the distance as their arms get back to normal.

Look into what Ron Wolforth has with The Athletic Pitcher. Pretty good info in there.