Getting rocked

I’m a sophomore in high school. 5’7" 145. I have decent velocity (nothing extraordinary)… but they seem to make great contact and hit it pretty far, or foul tip multiple times, or hit weak grounders. those are split evenly about 33% each… Yes, I do typically throw 2 seam fastballs (don’t think they get much movement though…) Any suggestions? Best way to get more movement on 2seamer(if that’s the problem?) I’ve tried putting more pressure on pointer finger, but seems to only work sometimes, but then when I “try to pronate” I lose some control :frowning:

thanks for replies in advance.

More than likely, the trajectory of your incoming pitch is flat, easily spotted, and plows right through
the swipe path of most batting styles that it faces. In other words, the flight path of your pitch, from
release to about ten feet in front of the plate, is recognized right off and the challenge of - to swipe
-or not, is made easier for the batter.

I have found pitchers of your size do best with junk … you know, stuff that’s hard to pickup right out of the gate.

Got a decent slider, curve ball, split finger, off-speed with lots of deception? If you have a pitching coach he/she
can work on those with you for better results. If you don’t have a pitching coach, at the top of this web page is a topics
bar that’ll give you some great insight into how and when to deliver such pitches.

Best wishes on your baseball experience.

Coach B.

ps
A slider is really in the fastball family of pitches - but, for this post, I’ll consider that pitch part of
the “junk” family of pitches because of your velocity numbers.

I’ve said this many times, but it bears repeating.