Getting frustrated

Am new to this forum, and relatively new to coaching youth pitchers.

We have a team of mostly 8 yr olds, who are pitching for the first time. First half of our season is machine pitch, and last weekend was first kid pitch game.

I’ve been working with the pitchers most of the season to get them ready, and now we have seen them pitch in two games. I have no real prior coaching experience, but pitched from age 7 until age 22, and have been a good student of the game.

We’re focusing on the fundamentals… throwing strikes, and using the proper mechanics. We’re so far struggling on both ends. I know they don’t succeed overnight, but want to get them on the right track, and need some expert advice.

Main thing is the kids aren’t using what they learn (and do properly) in practice for the games. Most of them are pushing/aiming the ball versus just throwing it to the mitt… and are only throwing half the speed I know they are capable of throwing

I know velocity isn’t important at this age, but many of the pitchers are throwing rainbows in the games. I have a big kid who throws some heat, but babies the ball to the plate during games… part of this is confidence, and part of it is he doesn’t want to hurt anyone.

So… with that being said, any advice you can give me? Main thing is i want them to apply what they learn in practice, but in the game they turn into a completely different pitcher… and not in a good way.

Thanks in advance!

Plenty of 10 yo’s I see still do the same. Gun it in practice and and try to place it in the game.

my kids 12 throwing about 62 at home about 54 in games good luck i have no advice to ya