General Thoughts

Newbie here, but not to baseball.

I’m not really qualified to write a book on any of this, but I’ve followed baseball for years; pitching for only a little less. I’ve had coaching opportunities, but my schedule at those times didn’t allow for it.

With that disclaimer out of the way, I want to share my general thoughts about pitching and pitching mechanics:

• There are different body types and throws made from those varying bodies. If you’re scrawny like Greg Maddux, or tubby like David Wells, don’t feel like you have to throw like you’re Randy Johnson. Throw however is comfortable for you. You can adjust little pieces later. (In fact, I’m not sure I’d ever recommend throwing like Randy Johnson. But hey, it worked for him. But his whip-like delivery has taken its toll on his back. And if you look like David Wells, you should probably run some more foul poles. And if you look like Greg Maddux, don’t skip any meals. Unless you are Greg Maddux. And then you can do whatever you want, because you’re pretty much the best pitcher of the modern era (with due respect to Pedro Martinez and Roger “B12” Clemens).)

• The overhand throwing motion is tough on elbows and shoulders. You’re asking the shoulder to rotate downward at over 4000 RPM (in the fastest pitchers), and almost instantaneously decelerate. So a newcomer to pitching is already heading down a dark alley, hoping he doesn’t get mugged by Tommy John or knifed by Dr. James Andrews on the way to Cooperstown. But don’t give up hope, just be aware that it’s a tough road where pain is inevitable, but manageable. I guess that’s like a lot of things in life.

• Lastly, I’ll shut the heck up and say KISS: Keep It Simple, Silly. Keep things linear (straight). Keep your momentum and movements direct to home plate as much as possible in your delivery. The mound is 10 inches high and slopes downward toward home plate. Take advantage of the “free” fall and resultant momentum on your drive home.