Full v. slide step

Without reviewing video… Any theories on why my son’s slide step produces significantly higher velocity (3 mph) than his full windup or normal stretch… Arm action (path) is identical, stride length same. Not looking for answers, just theories as an objective way to investigate and eliminate or hone in on potential places to look.

I have my theories, looking for others.

Thanks
David

I’m not a mechanical guy what so ever but from my experience, he probably gets more momentum or something? Usually for some people it’s the other way around.

guess #1 - he may just have better timing when going from the stretch and is able to sync all the moving parts to produce more velocity.

Bump

Then just pitch from the slidestep at all times. I was the same way when I was younger, I only pitched from the slidestep because I was a lot more comfortable that way. You may think it’s a bad thing but being better in the slidestep is actually a blessing, you’re going to do most of you’re pitching with runners on from the slidestep so it’s good to be good at it. Also as to why that is happening, I dont know why it could just be a matter of comfort.