Front shoulder height

I am a pitching coach in a large midwest city. Some of the “academy” pitching coaches are teaching throwing the front side (glove side) elbow well above the back side shoulder during the stride and before release (as well as dropping the back shoulder). I understand “the tilt” and I can MAYBE see the benefit of some velocity for the one percent power pitchers. But for most, I just dont get it. It interferes with focus on the catchers glove and it has to be timed just right - because it also interferes with control. Unfortunately when these pitchers miss - they miss up in the zone.

Part 2 of the problem I have with this is not only does leaving the ball up get you hit hard, but the strike zone is no longer under the letters. Its pretty rare that the belt high pitch is getting called for a strike.

Is anyone else seeing this trend? I do see some MLB pitchers doing this, but they the ones who usually throw every pitch with 100% effort. Can someone explain it to me?

Everyone wants the success Lincecum has had.
Yes I’ve seen it…whattya gonna do?..keep working kids in the way you know best…those guys will be preaching the next flavor of the month in a minute.
Success over time has a way of quieting the lemmings following “current thought”. Now that doesn’t mean don’t change when it makes sense but changing methodology like you can the old drawers is not imo productive.

I agree with jd, it’s a style that has been made popular by Lincecum, it definitely isn’t a style for every pitcher, actually it’s a style for very few pitchers. For the balance of the athletes you don’t have to re-invent the wheel, good solid balanced mechanics are what works for the majority of pitchers.

Andy Petitte probably contributed to the idea as well. :wink: