Error or Hit?

a batter hits a slow roller to 3B. The fielder fields the ball but makes a high throw to first.

The runner beats the ball to the bag but due to the fact that the throw was high is it an error?

No error, scorekeepers opinion should be a hit. If the runner gets second on the throw then an error would be in order.

This is one of those judgment calls that umpires are faced with time and again. The question here would be, was it just a high throw or did it pull the first baseman off the bag? I’ve seen it called both ways. 8)

Should be scored an infield hit, but if the throw allowed him to advance to second a throwing error should be scored to account for the extra base.