Elbow Protection

There are many people on this site that know a lot about pitching mechanics and ways to reduce the risk of injury. I’m a 16 year old sophomore pitcher and I’ve had elbow problems in the past. With a new season approaching is there anything I can do to reduce the rist of these problems occuring again?

I discuss my ideas about this in this article…

Pitching Mechanics That Prevent Medial (Inner) Elbow Pain
http://www.chrisoleary.com/projects/Coaching/Pitchers/essays/PitchingMechanicsThatPreventMedialInnerElbowPain.html

[quote=“Chris O’Leary”]I discuss my ideas about this in this article…

http://www.chrisoleary.com/projects/Coaching/Pitchers/essays/PitchingMechanicsThatPreventMedialInnerElbowPain.html]Pitching Mechanics That Prevent Medial (Inner) Elbow Pain[/url
[/quote]

Chris,

I extracted the following from your article: “If you were wondering, very few major league pitchers actually show the ball to Center Field. Instead, most show the ball to SS or 3B.”

You are mistaken. You misunderstand the timing and misinterpret what you see on the still images you have compiled. The critical timing factor is how long you see pitchers stay ‘thumbs down’ on the ball. Most right-handed major league pitchers actually face the ball to the shortstop or even the first baseman, radically different from what you wrote. Because Barry Zito ‘hooks’ his wrist, he dramatically faces the ball to third base.

I really wish you would not present yourself as having expertise when you don’t. There are numerous critical errors in your assessments. When you have actually trained a pitcher and understand something of what you’re talking about, anatomically and mechanically, then you might be able claim a minimal level of experience. Your ‘suggestions’ will not help the above young man avoid further elbow injury.

At a personal level I’ve attempted to be both patient and kind with you. Please wise up.

Coach45

perfectly put Coach45