Elbow Pain Help!

Hello,

I’m a 17 yr old RHP, who is 6’3" 210 lbs.

I have recently been feeling a lot pain/discomfort when I pitch in the back side of my elbow where the elbow connects to the tricep and between my two inner elbow bones. The pain comes in cycles. For example I will pitch on Saturday no pain, but not be able to throw again with no pain until Friday.

Background:

I started training to gain velo this summer and have been lifting, gaining weight, long tossing and doing driveline.

June (start) - 6’2" 185lbs 80 mph

July - 6’2" 190 lbs 83 mph

October- 6’3" 200 lbs 85 mph

Shut down november to mid december

January - 6’3" 210 lbs 88 mph

Febuary - PAIN

The next day after you pitch are you able to bend your elbow completely (180 degrees)? If not you are probably hyperextending the elbow.

So many variables have been changed you may never know what caused it. Was your weight training designed for overhand athletes? Was the driveline program supervised by a knowledgeable instructor? Did you do a proper ramp up after shutting down for a month and a half?

Regardless, you need to stop throwing and see a sports medicine orthopedist with knowledge of baseball arms. The places you are having plain is screaming UCL problems (the Tommy John’s ligament).

RHP245,

“I have recently been feeling a lot pain/discomfort when I pitch in the back side of my elbow where the elbow connects to the tricep and between my two inner elbow bones.”

There is an exact cause for your discomfort and zendog nailed it!