Dreamin' Big

I am a sophomore in high school, topping out at about 84-85.
My goal this offseason is to improve my vertical, have a strong AND explosive core, chest, and arms
Also hope to improve accuracy of all three pitches for next year

So far, I’ve worked extremely hard but not gotten many results, my goal is to throw 90 by next year but I’m not making that good of progress

If anyone has specific workout routines that have worked I’d love to hear 'em

Why do you want to improve your vertical?

Great Question ^

Your way ahead of most of your class, and the higher velocity you get, the harder it is to get more. Keep working.

http://www.■■■■■■■■■■■.net/jump-farther-throw-harder/

more force pushing off the mound, more force on the baseball, plus my vertical is pathetic

Had a bullpen today, went better than I expected, good accuracy on three pitches, and velocity was good. I felt like I was throwing a wee bit harder

Hey Dreamer, welcome to the board:

The others are right, at mid eighties you are ahead of the curve by quite a bit. I think that a vert is a good measurment of general athletic ability and explosivness. I dont think “just” adding 6 inches to your vert means your velocity is going to shoot up. The power (squats, calf lifts, jumping with resistance, deadleft ect.) needed to train for an improved vert will help in all athletic endevors. Other things to measure? Sprint speed (40 & 60 yd), long jump, standing side jump ect. Doing long jump with resistance is great as are Heidens and sprints. Doing plyometrics are good, but, only part of the equation. Building a good power base with lifts and sprints is the biggest part in my humble opinion. Once you have a good base of flexability and strength, try to find someone locally for you that trains using a Veritmax. Good results with that related to vertical.

Interesting article same with the one that says lateral jumps increase velocity.