Does pitcher need to hit ball well?

Hi,
This is my first time here. Please forgive me if I ask a stupid question.
My son is 10U select team start pitcher. Pittching seems pretty natureal to him. He can throw fast ball around 60m with very good location control. His change up is 8-10m slow.
But he has a lot troubles in batting such as slow bat speed, not hitting ball hard, and easily getting strike out. As a pitcher, He spent much more time on batting practise than pitching. It did not change the result. He is still the last batting order in his team. Now he is a liittle tired of baseball because batting.

My question is that does pitcher need to hit ball well or doesn’t matter?

Thanks for any response.

I remember way back when—many moons ago, the American League was loaded with good hitting pitchers! It started with Red Ruffing, and it went on to the likes of Joe Page, Allie Reynolds, Tommy Byrne, Bob Lemon, Early Wynn, Hal Newhouser, blah blah blah. Now, since the advent of the designated hitter (boooo!), the pitchers in said league have seemingly forgotten how to hit and are at a disadvantage in interleague play, whereas the National League pitchers tend to be good hitters.
In the case of your kid, who seems to be getting disillusioned with the game because he can’t hit, I’m wondering whether his coach subscribes to the AL or the NL position regarding hitting pitchers. I for one would say that it doesn’t matter; the kid is pitching very well and getting the batters out. But if he really wants to hit a little—at least lay down a good sacrifice bunt—he should get with a hitting coach, preferably one with high-level professional experience, who can teach him some of the fundamentals of batting. Think about it. 8)

[quote=“Franklin”]Hi,
This is my first time here. Please forgive me if I ask a stupid question.