Do I need tj?

So I’ve been pitching for a while now and my velocity is high. I’m just really nervous because I’m only a sophomore that topped out at 90 and I cant imagine just having tommy john because I heard your arm won’t be the same and I don’t want to take the risk but whenever I throw my elbow hurts, like it hurts to throw when I throw at a high rate of speed but went to a really good pitching coach and taught me better mechanics and doesn’t really hurt my arm now more but the pain is kind of still there, I would say pain but discomfort but I’m just really nervous if it’s tj because it will mess up my whole career and I have such a future for me and just scared to lose it it all:((

Has an orthopedist recommended TJ surgery? If so, what is their background?? Are they trained in sports meds; an emphasis in injuries of throwing sports would be preferred?

IRT TJ- lots of players have it and are able to be very competitive after rehab. The return is a marathon, not a sprint. It requires a knowledgeable PT to guide you and lots of hard work, along with a very strict adherence to the recommendations of your medical team.

Today, an astounding 56.8% of all Tommy John surgeries are performed on teenagers. The reason is obvious. I would stop throwing until a sports orthopedic surgeon trained in arm injuries sees and clears you.

so you think I might have tj?

So you think I have tj?

THe thing is I can still lift a lot when I hit the weight room and it doesn’t bother my elbow. Would I still have tj if I can still do all those things?

Why are you seeking medical advice on the interweb?

Well because I have an appointment next week and I’m just nervous that’s why. I just want to get some facts